P.S I Still Love You

p-s-i-still-love-you-9781442426757_hr

Book Title: P.S I Still Love You
Book Series: 
To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before book #2
Author:
 Jenny Han
Date Published:
 April 15, 2015
Genre:
 Young Adult
Summary:
 Given the way love turned her heart in the New York Times bestselling To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, which SLJ called a “lovely, lighthearted romance,” it’s no surprise that Lara Jean still has letters to write.

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.

When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of makes it so amazing.

 Thoughts

I gave this book a 3 1/2 out of five rating. I can say, there is a story plot improvement compared to its prequel, To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before (well maybe because I was hoping for more romance in the story and I pretty much didn’t get that from book one). Given that this book is a Young Adult’s book, it has just dawned on me (shocker right?) that the series will pretty much be on the conservative note. Ha ha ha. What was I even thinking? The characters were less likely provocative with their actions (good, bad, romantic, what not).  Having said that, if you are just up to a cute-stroll-in-the-park-with-your-puppy kind of read then this book is perfect.

As much as I was hoping for more action, I still find this book enthralling. The simplicity of the characters (their personalities are not complicated to read) and the laid back flow of the story have somehow captivated me. So far, unlike in the first book, there isn’t a chapter that I found boring maybe because the introductory part were all laid out in the first book already and that this book covered the romantic aspect of the story more.

Note: Spoiler alert down low. Stop reading here if you wish to save the dits for yourselves 🙂

I still find Peter and Lara’s connection lacking even when they are already a couple in this story. I hoped to see more romance going on. I can see that Jenny introduced several drama in this book between Gen-Peter-Jenny but nothing to back that up to give spice to their looming love triangle. I see less in Lara’s reactions than how it normally is in reality. She is well, very — poised. I admire that of Lara but, with the way she has reacted to the love triangle thingy, her poised-ness was too much and it simmered down all the excitement boiling up  – time after time after time. Perhaps, showing some signs of vulnerability or jealousy wouldn’t hurt her character. After all, she’s just human too. She has the right to fight for what’s hers but she always runs away, hides, or confronts Peter less about the matter giving the story less excitement or giving that love triangle aspect less drama for a great story plot. She’s too good to be true. It’s okay once in awhile, but like always? No.

Also, what I don’t get is that most of Peter’s time was with Genevieve. Lara is right for sighting that his number one priority is his ex girlfriend. It showed. Giving less emphasis on Lara’s and Peter’s relationship, that hurts this book much more than it gave justice for me. I see more connection with Gen and Peter, but not of Lara and Peter. Isn’t that annoying? I don’t get why Jenny put it that way. It was supposed to be a story of Peter and Lara! I spent nearly all my reading time enduring all the low blows for Lara. Seeing the relationship of Peter and Gen more and knowing much about their connection and care for each other than of Lara and Peter. Worst part, Lara didn’t do anything about it — instead, too good to be true, she understood and kept mum about the matter not until she exploded (yeah right… still so calm) and broke up with Peter.

Yeah, that breakup. I wasn’t even moved by it. I was actually glad they did. Sad part, they got together in the end. Duh? What is it to be merry about? That all Peter did romantically with her in this book was their exchange of text messages or pick her up from her house going to school? Or snuggle with her?

Lara always backed out watching Peter’s games,  turned him down and be somewhere else other than be there for her man for support. Also, in that whole event where their sexy scandal gone viral, where was Peter? And how again did Peter protect her from all of those? I see that he was with Gen consoling her more with her family problems than her own girlfriend’s personal ordeal which he was involved too? What’s more f$cked up is that Peter knew that Gen was behind it and he didn’t do anything about that and still spent most of his time with her than be with his girlfriend. Like, come on! Frustrating.

I see more connection with John and Lara. John who cared even more about Lara’s interests and activities and personal space. He has been with her in that realm than Peter. Even when their story was cut short, at least with  John I find real connection than Lara and Peter. You can’t blame me. With how Lara and Peter started, it’s not like Peter is head over heels over her and vice versa. They needed each other to accomplish their own schemes and they just realized they wanted to be together. Lara is your typical wall flower and Peter is your cool guy with a hot chick then, Genevieve. He was trying to get over Gen so he agreed to scheme with Lara who was then needing him in return to avoid Josh. It wasn’t like Peter liked her over Gen in the first place. That alone could be a testament that Gen is greater than Lara in most aspects in the first book that I hoped this book would put to rest. If I were Lara, I would feel very insecure since up until then he chose to be with Gen than her especially in times when she most needed him around. Both girls needed him but he was with Gen more. Lara and Peter have the gf-bf label but he is always MIA being with Gen without her knowledge even during his spare time in which he could have just spent with Lara. For me to be more presently available for a person even w/o labels, isn’t that says much more? Hmmm.

Even though the whole Peter and Lara’s connection was off, I still find the book fascinating. It’s a work in progress, I think. I hope there is a third book and it should put more sense in Peter and Lara’s relationship. A make believe one. Peter, as much as I hate to say it, looked more like Lara’s kissing buddy than a real boyfriend material in this book. He was mostly only ever present on those parts. I hope to see more emotions in the characters either it be jealousy, anger, confused, more confrontations if need be. Those sort of elements that make an exciting story — and not just a good one.

Leave a Reply

