If I Stay

81aTBRY7dxL

Book Title: If I Stay
Book Series: If I Stay book #1
Author: Gayle Forman
Date Published: April 2009 (First Published)
Genre: Young Adult Novel
Summary: On a day that started like any other…
Mia had everything: a loving family, a gorgeous, adoring boyfriend, and a bright future full of music and full of choices. Then, in an instant, almost all of that is taken from her. Caught between life and death, between a happy past and an unknowable future, Mia spends one critical day contemplating the one decision she has left—the most important decision she’ll ever make.

Simultaneously tragic and hopeful, this is a romantic, riveting and ultimately uplifting story about memory, music, living, dying, loving.

Thoughts

I honestly learned about this from a friend. That time, my friend was raving about this upcoming movie and she mentioned that it was adapted from a book. She is dying to see this movie. I got curious and decided to read the book first before ever attempting to watch the movie just for comparison (which I love doing) since I know that sometimes they alter the story from the book when delivered to the big screen. Since I rarely go to the cinemas, I haven’t seen the trailer nor bothered searching it on the internet. I wanted to be surprised.

Well, the story was actually decent but to be honest — this kind of plot is not my thing. Strange as it is, I can’t relate to that part where after that fatal car accident that killed the rest of Mia’s family and put her life in the brink of death, Mia’s soul lingered around. Most parts of the story were actually told based on the series of events that she has undergone or witnessed while she was in that spiritual state of being. Add up her spirit’s struggle to decide whether to live or to die while her almost lifeless body was in coma. Well, it was kind of… creepy? I just can’t imagine if that is even possible. Maybe? Maybe not? That uncertainty definitley killed the buzz for me. It was dark and heavy. Death. Soul seeing things or events around her. Really? WTH? I remember skipping a lot of pages after the other just to get to the bottomline of it all. I like stories which are relatable or at least not far from reality. Not this one. If Gayle has only shifted the story based on Adam’s POV then probably this could have been one of the best stories out there. The possibilities are endless.

Bottomline, I didn’t watch the movie. I got disappointed with how the book went. No point in watching it. However, the ending of the of the story left us all hanging which pretty much gave me a slight ding that the second book would salvage the story. I hope and pray that the sequel of this book give justice to this series… Afterall, the construction of the story itself (of course without that Mia and her soul creepy thing part), has all the right elements which make up a good drama overload book.

I rated this book 2 out of 5.

One thought on “If I Stay

  1. Pingback: Just One Day | Christa Joaquin

Leave a Reply

