More Than This

51iYl0MKZfL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Book Title: More Than This
Book Series: More Series #1
Author: Jay McLean
Date Published: July 2013
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Summary: When Mikayla imagined her prom night, she envisioned a fairy-tale evening full of romance. So when betrayal and tragedy come in quick succession, Mikayla is completely destroyed. Suddenly, everything she loved and everyone she relied on are tragically, irrevocably gone.

Jake, a handsome boy she just met, happens to witness her loss. With no one to turn to, Mikayla is forced to depend on this near stranger and his family, and he in turn is determined to take care of her. But Mikayla—thrust into adulthood with no one to guide her—is desperate to contain her grief and hide what she considers to be her weakness. Mikayla and Jake both want more, but despite their growing closeness and intense chemistry, she tries to keep her distance and protect her heart. As he does everything in his power to win her trust, Mikayla must choose between remaining alone and safe or letting love in.

Thoughts

In one night, everything that Mikayla ever had was gone. I don’t want to spill the details here because if I do, I basically spoiled the whole story for you guys. But believe me when I say everything, I meant EVERYTHING — as in her life is back to zero. That event may seem ridiculously impossible to happen for most readers’ opinion but believe me, if you ever had that one share of event in your life that seem to only happen in the movies such as what I have been through last year, I can totally dig Mikayla’s misfortune. Nothing is impossible in this lifetime anymore… It just so happen that these things happen for some and not to most of us so I can totally understand that some may find it ridiculously impossible. Poor Mikayla but yeah, shit things happen for some of us even in reality and not just in the movies or books that’s why I can relate to it.

Jake, whom she met that same night,  became her knight in shining armor. The reason why I so loved this books was because of this guy. The way he is with Mikayla, the way he looked at her, and the way he took all her shits and made it his own as well. Selfless love. I also love how humble he was at everything. He puts Mikayla first in his priorities. He is all I have ever dreamt of in a partner and was wondering that maybe someday I can find someone like him. Not impossible but I know it will be a long wait to find one (haha).

Mikayla was very hesitant to level up their relationship because she felt like she is a baggage for him. She is a train wreck and a charity work that she thinks that he was only there for her because he feels sorry. She was insecure with herself and I totally understand why. She’s gone through a lot but thanks to Jake’s bestfriend Logan, he reassured her that that is not how it is for Jake. Logan made her realized that Jake had always been there through her worst and has  never left her and even loved her more each time.

One thing I didn’t like in this book is that, especially in the first parts of the book, all their jealousy and petty fights were all about miscommunication. At first it was kind of cute but as the story progresses, I realized that both of them never really bothered talking things out. They’ll just.. pretty much make up, snuggle, and be ok after but never really bothered talking about it. In some cases, they’ll just walk out or sleep it out, disctract themselves and the next time it’s like — okay I’m done fighting lets just be okay then and be normal. Nah. I don’t dig that. That’s why I understand that at some point they have been very distant with each other because neither wants to start the talking.

Regardless, I have read so many books in the past and even got to compare their story with this series’ second book and goodness it made me realized that Mikayla’s and Jake’s story is worth 5 stars out of 5.

One thought on “More Than This

  1. Pingback: More Than Her | Christa Joaquin

Leave a Reply

