The One

15844362

Book Title: The One
Book Series: The Selection Book 3
Author: Kiera Cass
Date Published: May 6, 2014
Genre: Young Adult
Summary: The Selection changed America Singer’s life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she entered the competition to become the next princess of Illéa, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen—and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she’s made her choice . . . and she’s prepared to fight for the future she wants.

Find out who America will choose in The One, the enchanting, beautifully romantic third book in the Selection series!

Thoughts

I read this book in about 6 or 7 hours. I must say, A LOT has happened here! TRUST ME.

I don’t know if I was being naive about the whole rebel situation particularly with the Southerners but I have never expected the ending to be. I would say, I really never saw that coming… I kind of underestimated them. And oh, the events that took place during the ending of the Selection, EVERYTHING,  definitely made me… Ugh! I don’t want to even say a thing, I might give out clues. “Tsk.” — That’s the only giveaway I could muster for now.

One good thing I see happened here was that the remaining girls, most especially Celeste, saw her vulnerability at last. That has a domino effect to the other girls paving way for them to somehow really connect and start some sort of friendship. I guess, it’s never too late.

I saw the real color of the King here and the Queen. Well, the King… I saw how stubborn he is. You’ll definitely know why. But the Queen, nothing but good words for her. I saw what a great lady, a strong woman, a great judge to her decisions, a great wife, and a great mother she is. *pout* I adore her.

I liked the Northerners aka Northern Rebels. I truly understand what they were fighting for and it’s for the benefit of everyone. They mean no harm. They just came with a purpose. STOP! Okay.

Maxon and America, Aspen and America, and Maxon and Kriss? Just wait until you read the last parts. Again, I knew someone would have guessed the ending way long ago in the series. BUT I DIDN’T.

To wrap it all up, I gave this a 4 out of 5 because there are things I wished never happened with the way things turned out in the end. The ending was a happy one, but not fully. I am a sucker for happy endings, not just for the 2 of them (whoever they are) but of course all factors included. But, I guess, there is no better way of ending things that way than how Kiera ended it. Deep in my heart, I know that the ending made the story whole.

2 thoughts on “The One

  1. Pingback: The Queen | Christa Joaquin

  2. Pingback: The Prince | Christa Joaquin

Leave a Reply

