The Reflections Of Queen Snow White

18780192

Book Title: The Reflections of Queen Snow White
Book Series: Standalone
Author: 
David Meredith
Date Published: 
October 2013
Genre: 
Fantasy
Summary: 
What happens when “happily ever after” has come and gone?

On the eve of her only daughter, Princess Raven’s wedding, an aging Snow White finds it impossible to share in the joyous spirit of the occasion. The ceremony itself promises to be the most glamorous social event of the decade. Snow White’s castle has been meticulously scrubbed, polished and opulently decorated for the celebration. It is already nearly bursting with jubilant guests and merry well-wishers. Prince Edel, Raven’s fiancé, is a fine man from a neighboring kingdom and Snow White’s own domain is prosperous and at peace. Things could not be better, in fact, except for one thing:

The king is dead.

The queen has been in a moribund state of hopeless depression for over a year with no end in sight. It is only when, in a fit of bitter despair, she seeks solitude in the vastness of her own sprawling castle and climbs a long disused and forgotten tower stair that she comes face to face with herself in the very same magic mirror used by her stepmother of old.

It promises her respite in its shimmering depths, but can Snow White trust a device that was so precious to a woman who sought to cause her such irreparable harm? Can she confront the demons of her own difficult past to discover a better future for herself and her family? And finally, can she release her soul-crushing grief and suffocating loneliness to once again discover what “happily ever after” really means?

Only time will tell as she wrestles with her past and is forced to confront The Reflections of Queen Snow White.

Thoughts

I am usually adamant in reading fairy tales because, well, I grew up reading them and I am kind of over the usual boy meets girl and tadaaaaa they lived happily ever after. So when I was tagged by David Meredith in twitter, if I am interested in reading his book The Reflections Of Queen Snow White, I was half considering it – half nope. But when I read the synopsis, I got very curious.

In the last 6 years alone, I have never read a book/novel written by a man or probably never even before that. Lastly, usually fairy tales ended when the boy meets girl and they lived happily ever after, but with this, it happened decades after that happily ever after moment. I got really curious; did they have kids?, how was the marriage like?, were their reign ran smooth?, etc…. So yes! I read it and to my surprise, I found the book one of a kind. It was nothing like the ordinary. I loved it! I even cried in some parts of this book and even encouraged my book buddy to get this book in Amazon.

In all of the books I have read by far, probably this is the book which was written with exceptionally large vocabulary. Perhaps, the genre that I usually go for were far from being written this way? David Meredith’s style of writing is very classic I can tell. I am not sure if he chose this style / approach to make it seem more like you are in that era, which for me totally worked for this book, or if he just writes like that.

Any who, this book is nothing like your ordinary fairy tale. It was sort of slow paced at first but it sped up eventually as the story progresses. This is the in depth view of Snow White’s life for when she was just a kid up to when she met her step mother, when she lost her dad, when she met his future husband, their reign, their married life and their struggles, their detractors, and so on.

This book opened my eyes to the reality. That opposed to our childhood’s fairy tale novels’ notion that marriage is always the ending of a great story, this book taught me that marriage is not the ending but rather the start of a couple’s life. It won’t always be smooth and surely there will be hiccups along the way regardless if you’re a royalty or a commoner – no one is an exception.

I will never look at fairy tales the same way again after I read this. I compare this book to a time in my life when I used to believe that Santa Claus is real and was always the one who gave me presents every Christmas eve. I used to believe in all of that Christmas magical thingy when my childhood friend told me one morning it isn’t real. He even provided me with facts that it was just our parents doing it. So I did my investigation and sure enough I was 8 then when my childhood belief was shattered. Hahah

This book was like that. I know in my heart, subconsciously that the ending of a great story should never be always about tying the knot — but with my childhood fairy tales, it always does work; it always get away with that. But after reading this book, surely I would already find a mature approach to this kinds of novels or fairy tales. This book is age appropriate for me — kind of like my time’s rendition of this fairy tale.

I gave this a 5 out of 5.

Click here to view this book in Amazon.

And here to view this book via GoodReads.

Shout out to David Meredith for sending me a complimentary book copy of this wonderfully written novel! W/o bias or anything, your book is highly commendable.

Leave a Reply

