Alpha

21491731

Book Title: Alpha
Book Series: 
Alpha Trilogy Book 1
Author: 
Jasinda Wilder
Date Published: 
April 2014
Genre: 
Adult Fiction
Summary: 
The first time it happened, it seemed like an impossible miracle. Bills were piling up, adding up to more money than I could ever make. Mom’s hospital bills. My baby brother’s tuition. My tuition. Rent. Electricity. All of it on my shoulders. And I had just lost my job. There was no hope, no money in my account, no work to be found. And then, just when I thought all hope was lost, I found an envelope in the mail. No return address. My name on the front, my address. Inside was a check, made out to me, in the amount of ten thousand dollars. Enough to pay the bills and leave me some left over to live on until I found a job. Enough to let me focus on classes. There was no name on the check, just “VRI Inc.,” and a post office box address for somewhere in the city. No hint of identity or reason for the check or anything. No mention of repayment, interest, nothing…except a single word, on the notes line: “You.” Just those three letters.

If you receive a mysterious check, for enough money to erase all your worries, would you cash it?

I did.

The next month, I received another check, again from VRI Incorporated. It too contained a single word: “belong.”

A third check, the next month. This time, two words. Four letters. “To me.”

The checks kept coming. The notes stopped. Ten thousand dollars, every month. A girl gets used to that, real quick. It let me pay the bills without going into debt. Let me keep my baby brother in school and Mom’s hospice care paid for. How do you turn down what seems like free money, when you’re desperate? You don’t. I didn’t.

And then, after a year, there was a knock on my door. A sleek black limousine sat on the curb in front of my house. A driver stood in front of me, and he spoke six words: “It’s time to pay your debt.”

Would you have gotten in?

I did.

It turns out $120,000 doesn’t come free.

Thoughts

I knew I have already graduated from these types of books… erotica genre. However, I felt that it had been a while since I last read one (50 Shades of Grey Trilogy and Sylvia Day’s  Bared To You Series) and it would be nice if I read at least, some now ‘coz I’m kind of feeling it.

Looking way past the erotic scenes — way past those same old same old bedroom stories like with the other erotic books out there… I really fell for the story. Seriously did, especially with the ending!

Kyrie. She’s basically her family’s breadwinner. After her father died, her mother became mentally ill so she had to be put to an institution to get her help. She is also helping her brother pay for his education while trying to survive hers. It was at that time when things went shitty (she was laid off from work, bills piling up, rents/tution fees were unpaid for months) that she started receiving the paychecks. Sent by whom?

Roth. It seems like he had been watching Kyrie for a very long time before he decided to interfere with her life. But the question is… how did he know her? What does he want from her? Why is he playing games with her?

Layla. The BEST BEST FRIEND EVER! I love how Layla takes care of Kyrie and vise versa. I love how she considers Kyrie her family. I think, with these two, I found what real friendship is supposed to be. I don’t literally find supporting characters to be eventful but with Layla, I guess I found the best friend chemistry with these two. I love their friendship. Reading them is so refreshing.

Well, it was when Roth’s real intentions and his story were revealed that I appreciated the whole mystery/game thing. That regardless if this was another erotic book; same plot, same anticipated events, etc — all of that became just a part of the real story.

I am glad I read it only now as the ending was a great cliff hanger. I am on my way to second book which is Beta. Yay!

I gave this a 5 out of 5 rating.

One comment

Leave a Reply

