Beta

22041497

Book Title: Beta
Book Series: 
Alpha Trilogy Book 2
Author: 
Jasinda Wilder
Date Published: 
October 2014
Genre: 
Adult Fiction
Summary: 
Roth and I are on an open-ended tour of the world. Roth being Roth, this means missionary in Morocco, reverse cowgirl in Calcutta, bent over the bow of a houseboat in Hanoi, slow and sleepy on St. John. Anywhere and everywhere, in every conceivable position, and some I didn’t know were possible.

Life was pretty incredible.

Until I woke up in his chateau in France, alone. On the bed next to me was a note. There were only four words:

He belongs to me.

Thoughts

I am conflicted, actually, whether I liked this book or not. The way Jasinda wrote the book is exceptionally good but if this was the sequel of Alpha, you will never guess that it was. Why? The plot is so000 much different from Alpha! This is action-packed, violence, hostages, guns, armed men, rape, and killings. Oh men!

Actually, I chose to read Alpha in the first place for a light read. I totally loved Alpha so I decided to read Beta, of course, not knowing that this presents a different tone than Alpha. Who would have thought things would take a 360 flip in Beta? The action packed scenes are way too heavy for me. Reading the first few chapters, I was already internally debating whether I should continue reading it or not. Eventually I did.

Maybe, this type of story just wasn’t my taste that time since I was looking for a romantic, light, sappy read. But if I were to look on the hind side, and if it was my book of choosing that time, perhaps I would have loved the turn of events and the suspense, the thrill of it all. Bad ass.

I dislike the fact that Roth kept on feeling guilty with just about anything that has happened to them. Of course, it was because of his past dwellings that got them onto it but come on! There’s no time for these self loathing antics. Just man up and face the consequences instead of loathing and sort of letting Kyrie go for her sake. Like, is that for real? He reeled her into this world and now that it’s fucked up and he was feeling sorry for her because she got dragged down to his mess, that he thought it would be best to let her go for her own good? Like WTF. The girl cheated death to save him and that’s his brilliant idea to repay her? If the girl wanted out of these whole shit she could have had done so without going the extra mile for him. When he is loathing, I really find it very off-ish. He is the man. He should be assertive, strong, and be in control of the situation even if it’s at mess. Unfortunately, in many cases in this book, it was Kyrie who showed a great amount of strength and willingness to save their relationship when all the while it should have been Roth because this was his mess, he is the guy, she is of a weaker sex than him… Haha Sorry if I sound completely annoyed  right now, because I really am super annoyed with that but oh well, for that matter I gave this book a 3 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

