The Crown

1450275905025

Book Title: The Crown
Book Series: 
The Selection Series Book 5
Author:
Kiera Cass
Date Published: 
May 2016
Genre: 
Young Adult
Summary: 
When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.

Thoughts

This book didn’t disappoint. 2 months of waiting for my pre-order get delivered to my kindle is WORTH IT. This book made me cry!! It came as a surprise actually. If you’ve read The Heir, you’ll definitely know why I assumed I won’t.

Eadlyn is very — self absorbed especially in the beginning. She is very tough and getting past her walls is quite a challenge. She thinks highly of herself, for one because she can and she has the right to; she knew what power she has since she was born. Well, I had a hard time connecting with her character for many reasons and one was because she’s very aloof to people and opening herself up to them is not a skill she mastered. In more ways than not, I can totally see myself in her. I understand how hard it is for her to loosen up. That was painful for me to watch because I can relate. That is one of my traits I wished I could improve but haven’t until now. Actually, it took her a long while to open up to these men to the extent that I almost didn’t see much romance or connection to each of these Selection finalists. Of course not until this book came to life and gave meaning to it all.

The turn of events absolutely moved me. In the end, I saw a flood of emotion and considerations on her part which are a luxury in books The Heir and The Crown. Eadlyn being vulnerable and embracing it, for once acting like she’s just human after all, and for being considerate to the people around her and her people — that’s something. If you’ll read between the lines of this book, it tells us that if you love a person, set them free (you’ll definitely understand this once you’ve finished reading this book).

This book totally surprised me in many ways than one; the men of the Selection especially the Elites (promise, you’ll be surprised with what happened to some of them), family revelations (LOVE-HATE REACTION RIGHT HERE), Ahren and America’s mini stunt (SHOW STOPPER), and finally the real prince consort (I had a hint though but I never knew it’s possible), Josie and Eadlyn (I am happy for these two. FINALLY. I am annoyed with Josie in the beginning but seriously, this book made all the difference). AND SO ON. I probably should stop here as I might spill out information and spoil your readings.

Any who, I hope you enjoyed this book much more than I did. I gave this book a 5 out of 5.

2 thoughts on “The Crown

  1. Surprisingly, I enjoyed this book too. I was apprehensive at first because I wasn’t sure if I would like the ending (or even Eadlyn herself!) but she proved me wrong.

    Which part made you cry? I got teary a little bit when she decided to ascend the throne which kind of surprised me cos I thought I would not have that kind of connection with her :p

    Liked by 1 person

    • when she ascended the throne too!!! Her speech… oh goodness her speech def is something I have never expected from her. She seems so legit here and in full control. She knows what she had to do for the first time. She knows what she wanted and did it on her own! Also, when America got hospitalized. Ive seen so much love of Maxon for America. His love never withered even through time. It’s very rare nowadays.

      Like

Leave a Reply

