Girl Online

girl-online-9781476797458_hr

 

Book Title: Girl Online
Book Series:
Girl Online Book 1
Author: 
Zoe Sugg
Date Published:
January 2014
Genre: 
Young Adult
Summary: 
I had no idea GirlOnline would take off the way it has – I can’t believe I now have 5432 followers, thanks so much! – and the thought of opening up to you all about this is terrifying, but here goes…

Penny has a secret.

Under the alias GirlOnline, she blogs about school dramas, boys, her mad, whirlwind family – and the panic attacks she’s suffered from lately. When things go from bad to worse, her family whisks her away to New York, where she meets the gorgeous, guitar-strumming Noah. Suddenly Penny is falling in love – and capturing every moment of it on her blog.

But Noah has a secret too. One that threatens to ruin Penny’s cover – and her closest friendship – forever.

Thoughts

I found out about this book through Zoe’s Youtube channel. As I am writing a book myself, it had been my past time to watch videos about writers and their experiences with writing their books as inspirations. Well, I was scanning videos when I came across her channel and found her video about her very first book getting printed. Then the rest that followed were all history.

I first laid my hands on this book a week ago however due to my schedule I only got to read 2 to 3 chapters at a time. Most times I only got to peek on a paragraph then I dozed off. That’s how busy and tiring my week had been. Luckily, I found time yesterday and today to finally finish this book. Thanks to my coding sh&t, I got to spend 2 hours earlier in a coffeeshop reading this.

Well, this book I’d say is very teeny-ish for that I gave it a 3.5 out of 5. If you’re up to a light, cute, cheesy book I’d totally recommend this. I loved the book all in all however the setting of this book (the protagonist flying to New York and then poof insert story here) is kind of getting old for me. New York is a nice place I bet but the setting for most books / series were of in New York (Sex and The City, Gossip Girl, Shopaholic Takes Manhattan, etc). It’s cliche for me. I wished she could have done it somewhere else just to give it some uniqueness, I think. Also, the story is kind of, hmmm, slow paced… I’m not sure if I was the only one who had the same thoughts but there are some parts that could have been expressed way faster but was written lengthier when the point had been taken already so I had to skim on some parts here. And there were some parts that were expressed shorter when it should have been highlighted more like the romantic dates between Noah and Penny. I guess, I was just probably hoping for a romantic packed book here, is all. Anyways, Penny’s time in New York is just 8 days. I even wondered how on earth could they develop something in that short span of time? Even worse, some parts were just taken off and fast tracked giving me little space to see more connection between these two.

But what I loved in this book is probably the ending. I love happy endings. Also, I am into blogging, photography/arts, and wedding stuff so I totally dig those big time. I can relate.

Penny. How do I best describe her. Hmmm… total clutz. Hahah You’ll definitely see why. I love her family — they’re cool. Her parents are the groovy type. I enjoyed reading her folks actually and their traditions.

Elliot. He’s gay and Penny’s best friend. I wish I could have a friend like him 😦

Noah. Well, he’s kind of a mystery in this book and I had nothing much to tell about this guy except that he’s very romantic. On a personal note, I wish to see more of him in the next book as there was little about him on this book. You’d find out why. I love his family too. His grandma and Bella.

I’d say this book has inspired me, as a blogger. It gave me insights about the online world (the good and the bad) especially when you have that kind of reach like Girl Online (fan base). The people you connect with or inspire with your posts… it truly is touching to read. I had fun reading this book and tomorrow I’ll be starting with book 2. 🙂

Leave a Reply

