Girl Online: On Tour

Girl-Online-OnTour-jacket_Glamour_31July15_b_720x1080

Book Title: Girl Online: On Tour
Book Series: 
Girl Online Book 2
Author: 
Zoe Sugg
Date Published: 
October 2015
Genre: 
Young Adult
Summary: 
The sequel to the number-one bestseller Girl Online. Penny joins her rock-star boyfriend, Noah, on his European music tour.

Penny’s bags are packed.

When Noah invites Penny on his European music tour, she can’t wait to spend time with her rock-god-tastic boyfriend.

But, between Noah’s jam-packed schedule, less-than-welcoming bandmates and threatening messages from jealous fans, Penny wonders whether she’s really cut out for life on tour. She can’t help but miss her family, her best friend Elliot . . . and her blog, Girl Online.

Can Penny learn to balance life and love on the road, or will she lose everything in pursuit of the perfect summer?

Thoughts

Well, I loved this book more than book 1 I should say. I gave it a 4 out of 5. I really enjoyed reading this book mostly because the tour thing is really new to me 🙂 . The backstage experience, tour bus experience, having to see Noah’s dream come to life in front of his adoring fans screaming for him — is such a good feeling for me, and the places they’ve been to (Germany, France, Italy…) ! Ugh! I got to experience culture on another level.

I also loved the fact that Leah and Penny clicked! I love Leah! I initially thought she’d turn up to be like Megan 2.0 but to my relief she’d been more like her confidant slash friend slash savior slash the person that opened Penny’s eyes that she’s not just a spectator who settles watching her boyfriend’s dreams fulfilled while her dreams fade in the background for him; that she has to pursue hers too. Leah made her see the potential out there for her if she pursued it. If there’s a book 3, and I am not sure if there is, Leah could probably have a big role someday if when Penny made a name for herself in photography.

I loved the drama in this book. I totally feel for Penny most times but I also get that Noah is stuck in the middle. Career or her. However, he knew these things all along. Now that all of these are in front of him, he seemed to get lost in all of these thus leaving Penny behind. I was totally turned off by that actually. He’s a man. He should have a stand for himself. He needs to find the balance. He brought her into this knowing the difficulties ahead. I thought he could make things work seeing his determination while talking to Penny and her parents but sure is all I have ever seen were broken promises. Talk like a man, spit like a man. If you’d say you’d do something, own up to it! It was understandable if he broke his promise once… I can still accept that (but logically, it should not have happened either. NEVER start a relationship on a bad note or else it will become a trend eventually) but to my horror it had become a trend all throughout the book — like wtf? He totally discarded Penny on several occasions and he never found the way to make it up to her? Like it’s fine? Come on… She sacrificed her time and her dreams too in the process just to watch him fulfill his dreams and this is how she would be treated? Like, where is sensitivity here. I see selfishness on Noah’s part. And even with the incident with Blake, he chose Blake’s side! Like WTF? And even when he learned the truth, he waited for Penny to contact him first before he made a move?? If that was a move at all… I don’t see the spark in there. But at least, the incident with Penny’s phone, the stalker, blackmails, Noah’s tight schedules that brought him farther from Penny on this whole tour made sense after all. I liked that scene actually.

But to tell you the truth, I think… Noah’s still a boy. The way he makes decisions and unable to justify his priorities… total turnoff. Do you know the saying, hit two birds with one stone? He can totally balance his career and life at the same time and without sufficing either ONLY if he was a man to do it. If only he knew how to stand up for himself. BUT NAH! He is just a boy in my eyes. He needs Penny because she gives him that sense of comfort… but I’ve seen that Noah only cared about himself and his time in this book more than anything else that truly matters in the long run. I don’t get him. I have a great career but I never sufficed life for it. I made sure that I totally gave all of my time to the people that I most cared about. Career is only there for a time but people in your life could last forever.

Leave a Reply

